U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame announces 2022 inductees


The category of 2022 has been introduced for the U.S. Hockey Corridor of Fame. 5 new hockey icons will obtain the honour: Jim Johannson, Steve Money, Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson, Monique Lamoureux-Morando and Ryan Miller.

The induction occasion — the fiftieth anniversary of the Corridor — might be held on November 30, 2022 in St. Paul, Minnesota. Mike Trimboli, president of USA Hockey, released a statement:

“These 5 people have had a tremendously optimistic affect on hockey in America. They’ve all made numerous contributions to the sport all through their spectacular careers and their affect might be felt for years to return. We look ahead to honoring them because the fiftieth class of the U.S. Hockey Corridor of Fame in November.”

There are few individuals who have affected hockey as a lot because the late Jim Johannson, who spent almost 20 years on the high of USA Hockey and had an impact on so lots of the greatest gamers to return from America. The USA Hockey School Participant of the 12 months award was renamed to the Jim Johansson Award in 2019 after his loss of life, and his addition to the Corridor of Fame was solely a matter of time.

Money, among the finest sled hockey gamers of all time, has three Paralympic gold medals and 5 World Championship titles. He made his debut on the worldwide stage on the age of 16 and posted an all-time document of 129-40 with an unbelievable .898 save share over his profession in aim for Group USA.

The Lamoureux twins, as they got here to be recognized, have been among the most dominant gamers within the recreation throughout their time, successful six World Championship golds, an Olympic gold and several other different silver medals on the worldwide stage. Having final competed for Group USA in 2018, they have been all the time going to enter the Corridor collectively.

Miller, maybe essentially the most recognizable title to NHL followers, had one of the crucial profitable skilled careers ever from an American-born netminder. His 391 regular-season wins rank 14th all-time amongst NHL goaltenders, and he gained the Vezina trophy in 2010 as a member of the Buffalo Sabres. Internationally, Miller gained an Olympic silver medal on the 2010 Olympics, the place he posted a pristine .946 save share to steer the U.S. crew inside inches of gold.

It’s straightforward to neglect simply how dominant Miller was on the faculty stage, given his success within the NHL. He gained the CCHA Finest Goaltender award in every of his three seasons at Michigan State, posting a profession .941 save share throughout his 106 NCAA video games. He gained the Hobey Baker in 2001 and was a first-team All-American in each his sophomore and junior campaigns. He retired in 2021 following his 18th season within the NHL.

Source link